hello

IGExorcist

This site is a tool for Instagram that allows you to quickly determine followers who have not been engaged with you in recent times and then, in bulk, have them unfollow you.

If you have any questions, please mail igexorcist@gmail.com or contact me on Instagram as @mykel

IG is about people, not numbers.

Login with Instagram

Frequently Asked Questions

Back

FAQ

What does it do?

It collects stats on your followers. Specifically it loads all your follwers, all the users you follow, all the likes and comments on the last 180 days of your photos and all the likes you've recently given (although recent Instagram API changes mean that is only going to check the last 300 or so).

Armed with this information it will identify all the users that you have no interation with in the last 60-180 days and allow you to bulk delete them

Back

FAQ

How does it delete a user?

Users identified as inactive are blocked, which will remove the follower status from them, then immediately unblocked, allowing them to follow you again the future.
Back

FAQ

How do I use it?

There are a few steps involved.

1. You have to trigger the site to collect stats. You do this by hitting the "Request Rebuild".

2. Wait for the refresh to complete. The refresh process happens offline and can take some time to complete. Currently there is only a single refresher running, so if there is a queue of users waiting to refresh you need to wait until that is finished. Once your refresh starts, it can take around 15-30 minutes to complete. You can check the status of the refresh by hitting the "Refresh page" button. The Request Status is shown in the top near your image

3. Once the data refresh is complete you will be able to see the list of potential users that will be deleted.

4. Select the number of days back to go (60/90/120/180) and you will be shown all the thumbnails and names of the users to be culled, as well as the last time they interacted

5. If satisfied, click the request cull. Once the cull process starts it will take around 2-3 seconds per follower to process, so if you have a large number of followers it may take some time to complete.

Back

FAQ

Who, precisely, will it remove?

Any user that fits all of these criteria:

  1. Is following you

  2. You are not following

  3. Has not liked one of your photos that was posted in the last 60/90/120/180 days

  4. Has not commented on one of your photos that was posted in the last 60/90/120/180 days

  5. You have not liked a photo of in the last 5000 likes or 60/90/120/180 days recently (Changes in the IG API mean that I can no longer see more than about 300 of the most recent likes you have given)

To confirm - if you are following someone, they will not be unfollowed.

Back

FAQ

Can I choose who it will remove?

Yes, to an extent. By default the site will remove all the users that are inactive in your chosen period. When you bring up the list of identified users, you can click on a user and their background will turn green. A user with a green background in that list is considered "safe" and won't be removed when you run the cull. This way you can protect a small number of users (perhaps friends) from being culled. You can manage a large list of users this way if you want, but it's an interface designed more for keeping just a small number of users.

Clicking on the user a second time will remove the green background and un-protect them.

Back

FAQ

Any caveats? Oddities?

YES

The system has no way to know when a user started following you. All it can tell is check your photos for likes and comments. If a user has only recently started following you, but has not yet given you any likes or commments, then that user is considered to have not had any interaction with you in the last 180 days.

Back

FAQ

The Followers/Following counts are different to the numbers IG shows. Why?

There are a number of reasons for this:

This system collects data when a rebuild is run. The follower/following count is as at the last time a rebuild was run and you may have gained or lost followers in that time.

There appears to be an issue with Instagram when someone deletes their account. If a user that is following or followed by you has their account completely deleted, the follower/following count you see in Instagram is not update. This application requests all the users and totals the number returned rather than relying on a single user count number and thus I believe is more accurate.

Back

FAQ

What data do you keep?

Currently I keep a list of your followers and users you follow as at the time of the last rebuild. I have no intention of using it for any purpose, but as per the Instagram API usage policy, you can ask me to remove any data I have on your account by mailing me at igexorcist@gmail.com
Back

FAQ

How do I contact you?

You can look me up on Instagram as @mykel, but your best bet is to mail me at igexorcist@gmail.com
Back

FAQ

Can I tell others about the site?

What the hell.. yes.
Back

FAQ

Who am I?

Hi, I'm @mykel on IG. Drop by and say hello.
Back

FAQ

What's with the donate button

No pressure. Would be nice to cover the costs, not that they are particularly great, but I'm not in this for the money. Impressed you even read the question in the FAQ
Back

FAQ

How do I deauthorize this site from accessing my account

You can manage your instagram third party permissions on the Instagram Applications site. Go there (you may need to log in) and hit the Revoke Access button for the igexorcist application
Back

FAQ

Why is the cull so slow?

Recent changes to the Instagram API limit the number of block and unblock requests that can be sent. Because of this the system can only process culling around 80 followers per hour, so if you have many users to cull, it will take a considerable time. e.g.
  • 80 users = 1 hour
  • 1,000 users = 12 hours
  • 10,000 users = 5 days
Back

FAQ

What is this new cull style and what does timid mean?

I have recently added a selction of "Cull Type" to the page. If you select normal then inactive users as listed in the inactive follower lists are removed as normal when the cull is run. However, if you select Timid as the cull style, then before a user is culled some additional information is taken from the user profile and used to determine if the user is likely to be a spam account rather than just a normal user who has become inactive. Only those users considered likely to be a spam user are removed. Unfortunately it can't calculate this information in advance, so I can't deteremine how many followers specifically will be removed by this process.

Recently, unfortunately, the profile of bot/spam users has changed and is more difficult to pin down with any more accuracy. This means that the timid cull style is no longer very effective. Often if you select timid cull style you'll only manage to remove a handful of users. I no longer recommend the use of this option